Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Lotus Dream - lo resWhen I start working on a project, no matter what it is, I have to complete it in one sitting if possible, before I lose the momentum and the flow of inspiration is interrupted, perhaps lost forever. Hence that explains why a handful of my paintings dating back to the 90s were packed up – unfinished.

One could explain in several ways, to an inquiring visitor as to the incomplete piece of art – or just that “It is meant to be left unpainted”. In fact that holds true for the traditional Chinese ink paintings. Notice that “less is more” in many a Chinese art piece.

Diving into my cupboards of paintings is like entering my very own Aladdin’s cave, bringing back colourful moments of years gone by. At the end of the leisurely sashay down memory lane, the precious artworks are cleaned, rearranged and closed up again till the next indulgent review.

During my last foray, I found a painting which I casually worked on in the early 90s, with waxed crayons and water colours. An experimental piece, it was never quite finished. I kept it however, because of the sentimentality behind the subject matter. Although not meant to be accurate portraits, the two ladies represent two good friends with similar interests – supposedly in a dream mode.

Twenty-one years later, the painting and the friendship are still very much intact and once I had it in my hands again, I could not stop weaving new life into it – and now Lotus Dream is complete.

As in all my art works, every element used in the image holds special significance, especially to the person/s it is created for. An artist once told me “what you see is what it is meant to be” when I asked about his art work. While it bodes well in some cases, each piece I create always has a rich tale to tell.

As Lotus Dream is about true friends sharing common interests, I take this opportunity to say that such friends are few and far between and very hard to come by. I thank the good Lord for all those in my life.

